Handel: Streams of pleasure

Marie-Nicole Lemieux, contralto
Karina Gauvin, soprano

Alan Curtis, conductor
Il Complesso Barocco


Georg Friedrich Haendel (1685-1759)
1. Destructive war | Belshazzar
2. To thee, thou glorious son of worth | Theodora
3. Fury with red sparkling eyes | Alexander Balus
4. Lead me – Crystal streams in murmurs flowings | Susanna
5. From this dread scene | Judas Maccabaeus
6. Streams of pleasure ever flowing | Theodora
7. Ah! whither should we fly? – As with rosy steps the morn | Theodora
8. Prophetic raptures swell my breast | Joseph and his brethren
9. Our limpid streams with freedom flow | Joshua
10. Can I see my infant gor’d | Solomon
11. Fair virtue shall charm me | Alexander Balus
12. Thou fair inhabitant – Welcome as the dawn of day | Solomon
13. Forgive me – My father | Hercules
14. But why art thou disquieted – Oh! that I on wings could rise | Theodora
15. Great victor, at your feet I bow | Belshazzar


Released on July 27, 2011 by Naïve
EAN 822186052617

Requiem: Verdi


Tonhalle (Zürich) | July 2011


Of the soloists, the most impressive was Marie-Nicole Lemieux who gave a flawless reading of the mezzo/alto part with a big (…) voice in all registers.

John Rhodes | ConcertoNet